The Baa Atoll in The Maldives

The Baa Atoll consists of three natural atolls, the southern Maalhosmadulu Atoll, the Fasdūtherē Atoll, and the smaller natural atoll, the Goifulhafehendhu Atoll.

Situated on the western side of the Maldives atoll chain, it consists of 75 islands, 13 of which are inhabited by a population of over 11,000 people. The remaining 57 islands consist of uninhabited islands and eight resort islands. The Baa Atoll is part of the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve, and is home to globally significant biodiversity. Covering approximately 139,700 ha of coastal and marine areas, the site is an incredible example of the Maldives’ high diversity of reef animals, with stony and soft corals, reef-dwelling fish species, marine turtles, manta rays and whale sharks. In addition to its 12,170 inhabitants, some 350,000 tourists visit the Biosphere Reserve each year.